That’s a Bit Too Hard…

I was recently reading Crime and Punishment by Dostoevsky, and this passage caught my eye.

“What do you think?” shouted Razumihin, louder than ever, “you think I am attacking them for talking nonsense? Not a bit! I like them to talk nonsense. That’s man’s one privilege over all creation. Through error you come to the truth! I am a man because I err! You never reach any truth without making fourteen mistakes and very likely a hundred and fourteen. And a fine thing, too, in its way; but we can’t even make mistakes on our own account! Talk nonsense, but talk your own nonsense, and I’ll kiss you for it. To go wrong in one’s own way is better than to go right in someone else’s. In the first case you are a man, in the second you’re no better than a bird. Truth won’t escape you, but life can be cramped. There have been examples. And what are we doing now? In science, development, thought, invention, ideals, aims, liberalism, judgement, experience, and everything, everything, everything, we are still in the preparatory class at school. We prefer to live on other people’s  ideas, it’s what we are used to! Am I right, am I right?”

It made me remember a passage in one of my textbook when I was studying in GaiDai:

優れた本に出会いのめりこみすぎると、その著者の考えやものの見方が伝染してしまう危険もある。この伝染は、案外気づかない。気づかないまま、口にしてしまう怖れもある。書いてしまうおそれもある。優れた本ほど、そういう力、危険を孕んでいる。一冊の本が、世界を変えることすらあるのだと思う。だからこそ、読書を鵜呑みではなく対話でなければならないと思う。

(Very, very roughly translated to): If you are too absorbed in a great book, there is a danger that the writer’s thoughts and point of view will infect you. This infection  is unexpected, unnoticed.  In that condition, there is a danger that you will talk about that writer’s thoughts. You may even write about it. The greater the book, the more power, the more danger it contains. Even just one book can change the world. Because of that we shouldn’t swallow whatever we read whole, but we must converse with it.

I would love to agree with both writers, but wouldn’t that mean that I was not thinking my own thoughts, exactly like they feared?

*this calls for a Philosoraptor meme, but I’m just too lazy*

4 thoughts on “That’s a Bit Too Hard…

    • I was stumped .___.
      After all, I think we need any kind of statement to make us think about everything else further… Either way, if we think about it, no one’s opinions are exactly the same with others, right? *getting even more confused by the minute*

      • Indeed. The statements and other peopLe’s thoughts are Like some kind of stimuLus.. And I think hardLy anything new is originaL anymore, because they are -aLmost- aLways inspired by the existing things.. And I think I’m not making any sense here @.@

Leave a Reply

